THE SPIGOT

from the NORTH DAKOTA RURAL WATER SYSTEMS ASSOCIATION

NDRWSA Welcomes New Executive Board of Directors

Michele Schommer and Steve Hansen are the newest members of the North Dakota Rural Water Systems Association's executive board.

Schommer was elected to the position of director at large. She has served as secretary on the Langdon Rural Water District board of directors since 2004. She and her husband, Don, have three boys and farm in the Munich area where they raise wheat, canola, sunflowers, soybeans, and pinto beans. Schommer is the county executive director of the Cavalier County Farm Service Agency.

Hansen was elected to the position of managers' representative. He has been employed as the general manager of the Southeast Water Users District since 2006, and previously worked for the system as a field operator since 1985. Hansen and his wife, Teresa, have been married for 24 years and have a son and a daughter. Hansen's hobbies include hunting, fishing, and golfing. In addition to being a long-time member of the Hankinson Volunteer Fire Department, he has also been active in the Jaycees, Richland County Pheasants, Inc., Hankinson

Wildlife Club, and is a past member of the Hankinson Park Board.

Gordy Blixt of rural Gardner was elected to the position of president. Blixt is a director for the Cass Rural Water Users District.

Elected to the position of vice president is Keith Nilson of rural Park River. He is also a director for the Walsh Rural Water District.

LaVonne Althoff of rural Hankinson and a director on the Southeast Water Users District's board, remains on the board as its secretary.

Joe LaFave remains on the board as its treasurer. LaFave is a director for the South Central Regional Water District.

Jack Hancock is now the past-president, having served as the president for the past two years. Hancock lives in rural Gilby and is a director on the Agassiz Water Users District board. John Bearman of rural Minot serves as the national director. He is also a director on the North Prairie Rural Water District board.



Pictured left to right are John Bearman, LaVonne Althoff, Steve Hansen, Jack Hancock, Joe LaFave, Michele Schommer, Keith Nilson, and Gordy Blixt.



Previous Winners

1993 City of Sherwood 1994 North Valley Water District 1995 North Valley Water District 1996 Southeast Water District 1997 Ramsey County Rural Utilities 1998 Ramsey County Rural Utilities 1999 Tri-County Water District 2000 North Valley Water District 2001 City of Cooperstown 2002 Grand Forks-Traill Water District 2003 Grand Forks-Traill Water District 2004 Southeast Water District 2005 Cass Rural Water District 2006 Cass Rural Water District 2007 Valley City Public Works 2008 City of Noonan 2009 South Central Regional Water District 2010 Valley City Public Works

President Gordy Blixt presents the water taste trophy to Wade Hesch of Valley City Public Works.

Valley City Wins Water Taste Test Contest

Attendees at the North Dakota Rural Water Systems Association's (NDRWSA) annual meeting have named the city of Valley City as the winner of NDRWSA's water taste test contest, which was held in conjunction with its annual meeting in December.

This year's contest was touted as "the best of the best," since only the 11 previous years' winners were invited to compete. Rural water system managers, board members, and engineers as well as some state and federal regulatory and funding agency employees judged the contest.

The water taste test contest is part of a "Quality on Tap!" campaign to emphasize the high-quality, standards, and consequently, taste of the state and nation's rural water. Each year, the winners of the state contests compete in a national contest on Capitol Hill in Washington, D.C., which is held annually as part of the National Rural Water Association's Rural Water Rally, a legislative event for the 48 state affiliates of the National Rural Water Association.